Welcome to my stop on the FFBC Blog Tour for The Sound of the Stars
by Alechia Dow!
 I am so excited to share with you my thoughts on this fabulous book and give you a chance to win your own copy!!
The Sound of Stars by Alechia Dow
Published by Inkyard Press on February 25, 2020
Pages: 432
Format:eARC
Source:Copy provided by publisher for review, via Netgalley

Don't miss this spectacular debut novel... Can a girl who risks her life for books and an alien who loves forbidden pop music work together to save humanity? This road trip is truly out of this world! A beautiful and thrilling read for fans of Marie Lu and Veronica Roth.

Two years ago, a misunderstanding between the leaders of Earth and the invading Ilori resulted in the deaths of one-third of the world's population.

Seventeen-year-old Janelle "Ellie" Baker survives in an Ilori-controlled center in New York City. With humans deemed dangerously volatile because of their initial reaction to the invasion, emotional expression can be grounds for execution. Music, art and books are illegal, but Ellie breaks the rules by keeping a secret library. When a book goes missing, Ellie is terrified that the Ilori will track it back to her and kill her.

Born in a lab, M0Rr1S was raised to be emotionless. When he finds Ellie's illegal library, he's duty-bound to deliver her for execution. The trouble is, he finds himself drawn to human music and in desperate need of more. They're both breaking the rules for the love of art--and Ellie inspires the same feelings in him that music does.

Ellie's--and humanity's--fate rests in the hands of an alien she should fear. M0Rr1S has a lot of secrets, but also a potential solution--thousands of miles away. The two embark on a wild and dangerous road trip with a bag of books and their favorite albums, all the while creating a story and a song of their own that just might save them both.

You ever high key wonder how you’d react in an apocalyptic situation? I do, constantly. Which probably explains why I adore this type of book so much. But sometimes I can’t quite relate to the hero of the tale because excuse me, am I heroic? Well, Ellie makes surviving the apocalypse seem relatable. First of all, our girl is hoarding books. Who among us can’t relate to that?! Plus, she’s been without her anxiety and hypothyroid medication, which again is something a great many of us can relate to. What happens if the aliens invade and you’re suddenly without health (mental and physical) care? I love that the author addresses this (and not just in passing- she does a wonderful job of making Ellie’s health a legitimate concern throughout).

Ellie basically has had enough of kowtowing to the aliens. She figures, she’s going to die, might as well die being true to herself. And, she’s going to help others in the only way she knows how- providing them stories, escapes. Her father is all but lost to her, and her mother is more absent every day, and Ellie knows she has to make choices for herself now- even though she and her parents love each other immensely, it seems like the aliens have taken even her beloved family away.

And while I don’t want to give much away about the aliens and what happens (obviously), I do want to mention that it’s incredibly interesting to see both the human (Ellie) and the alien (M0Rr1S) learning more about the other. Clearly, each has preconceived ideas about the other, but that will change as they get to know each other better. The aliens aren’t all evil just as the humans are not disposable. And that’s all I will say, because you really ought to undertake this incredible journey for yourselves.

Bottom Line: Can you actually believe that the insides of this book are as awesome as the cover implies? Impressive, right? I adored this book, full of characters I fell in love with and a super exciting and thought-provoking story that gripped me from the start.

About Alechia Dow

Alechia Dow is a former pastry chef, food critic, culinary teacher, and Youth Services librarian. When not writing about determined black girls (like herself), you can find her chasing her wild child, baking, or taking teeny adventures around Europe.

Win The Sound of the Stars by Alechia Dow (US Only)

a Rafflecopter giveaway

What would you do if aliens invaded, locked you up, and took away your books and other media? Rude, right!?

Posted February 19, 2020 by Shannon @ It Starts at Midnight in Blog Tour, Giveaway, Review / 10 Comments


10 responses to “The Sound of the Stars by Alechia Dow: Review & Giveaway!

  1. Wait, she risks her life for books. Ok, me and her are going to be friends. I want this to have a ET type friendship. Is that wrong of me? From everything you have said, I think I would love Ellie. She sounds like an incredible heroine, who is relatable.

  2. Beth W

    Well, if it were me, there’d be a lot of screaming and a lot of cursing. I don’t hoard books at all, but the idea of not having access to all those stories? Horrifying.
    Thanks for reviewing this one- it sounds fun, and I’m adding it to my TBR pile!

  3. I’ve been hearing about this book a lot! This is the first time I really read over the summary though. This cover is so gorgeous. My eyes. I am all over this, a book hoarder and a pop-music obsessed alien? I need it. I worry about not having medical necessities being both diabetic and asthmatic, the latter of which is a bit more dire. This reminds me a tiny bit of Heart Or Iron but I have a feeling it’s a ‘bit’ better than that.

  4. Aaah this book sounds so cool! I love that the author shows the consequences of the sudden disappearance of healthcare. That, alone, makes me want to read this book even more! I wish the giveaway was open for international :'(

Leave a Reply