Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for The Crown’s Fate by Evelyn Skye! Today, I have a mini-review of the book for you, along with a fancast, which I won’t lie, is hard for me, so I hope it’s okay 😉 Also, an awesome giveaway, so keep on reading!

The Crown's Fate by Evelyn Skye
Series: The Crown's Game #2
Published by Balzer + Bray on May 16th 2017
Pages: 400
Format:ARC
Source:ALAMW
Goodreads• Amazon • Book Depository

Perfect for fans of Shadow and Bone and Red Queen, The Crown’s Fate is the thrilling sequel to the New York Times bestselling The Crown’s Game, an atmospheric historical fantasy set in Imperial Russia.

Russia is on the brink of great change. Pasha’s coronation approaches, and Vika is now the Imperial Enchanter, but the role she once coveted may be more difficult—and dangerous—than she ever expected.

Pasha is grappling with his own problems—his legitimacy is in doubt, the girl he loves loathes him, and he believes his best friend is dead. When a challenger to the throne emerges—and with the magic in Russia growing rapidly—Pasha must do whatever it takes to keep his position and protect his kingdom.

For Nikolai, the ending of the Crown’s Game stung deeply. Although he just managed to escape death, Nikolai remains alone, a shadow hidden in a not-quite-real world of his own creation. But when he’s given a second chance at life—tied to a dark price—Nikolai must decide just how far he’s willing to go to return to the world.

With revolution on the rise, dangerous new magic rearing up, and a tsardom up for the taking, Vika, Nikolai, and Pasha must fight—or face the destruction of not only their world but also themselves.

So, I was super excited for this book, as The Crown’s Game was one of my absolute favorites of 2016! The tone for this book was quite different than the first. Since so much had happened (I can’t say obviously, because spoilers, hence a mini review!) the time for fun and whimsy and magical banter was over, and now the characters were left to deal with the aftermath of some pretty life changing stuff. So yeah, it’s much darker, much more desperate, the stakes are somehow even higher than in the first book.

As such, the characters go through a ton of development. They have to grow up pretty quickly and make a lot of really hard, really terrible choices, but these things force them to figure out who they want to be. While I did miss some of the innocence of the first book, this was definitely a well-written and fitting sequel. Really, there was no way that these characters could have stayed the same, no way their world could have continued as it was. The journey they go on and how it concludes were definitely satisfying!

Buy Links:

Pre-order Incentive

About Evelyn Skye

Evelyn Skye is the New York Times bestselling author of THE CROWN’S GAME (out now!) and THE CROWN’S FATE (May 16, 2017). She was once offered a job by the C.I.A., she not-so-secretly wishes she was on “So You Think You Can Dance,” and if you challenge her to a pizza-eating contest, she guarantees she will win. When Evelyn isn’t writing, she can be found chasing her daughter on the playground or sitting on the couch, immersed in a good book and eating way too many cookies.


The Fancast


Skype Session with Evelyn Skye + Evie Seo Tote

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Follow the Tour!

Week 1:

May 8th: Bookish Lifestyles – Review + Tote Design
May 9th: Brittany’s Book Rambles – Interview
May 10th: Alexa Loves Books – Author Guest Post
May 11th: It Start at Midnight – Mini Review + Fancast
May 12th: The Book Buzz – Review
Week 2
 
May 15th: The YA Book Traveler – Trailer + Interview
May 16th: Lost in Literature – Review
May 17th: Stories and Sweeties – Recipe
May 18th: My Friends Are Fiction – Review + Author Guest Post
May 19th: Paper Fury – Review

So, have you guys read The Crown’s Game yet? Are you excited for the sequel? And of course, would you watch my cast? 😀

Posted May 11, 2017 by Shannon @ It Starts at Midnight in Blog Tour, Giveaway, Quasi-Review, Review , / 8 Comments


8 responses to “The Crown’s Fate by Evelyn Skye: Mini-Review, Fancast, & Giveaway!

  1. OMG, I’m actually bouncing in my chair over some of your casting! Nikolai and Pasha? I can so see both of those. Galina? Nailed it! So much yes to that one! And Aizhana? Oh yeah, so, so right. Tilda could totally do her justice. But I’m still laughing at Valerie Bertinelli as Ludmilla. Sooo different from how I pictured that it’s given me a fit of giggles. LOL Now I just need The Crown’s Fate in my hot little hands!

    • Hahhaha thanks! Actually- so with Ludmila… I pictured her very differently too! But then I read the description on Evelyn’s site, and it said she was 48 with brown hair and brown eyes. And I had always pictured her as… older, jollier? But I was not correct, I guess. So I went with Valerie because she looks kind of jolly, but is still young enough to work? Hahahha. So random, I know!

  2. I have seen a lot of things about this series and the majority of people seem to love them! I have to admit that… I’m not a huge fan of the covers. But I should stop being a judgmental bookworm because it sounds like there is solely nothing but epicness and wonderful characters within!

Leave a Reply