Welcome to my stop on the Tsar’s Guard tour for The Crown’s Fate by Evelyn Skye! If you recall, I read the first bookThe Crown’s Game, last year and kind of loved it. And one of my favorite parts was All. The. Russia. 

Now, I was lucky enough to have seen a lot of the places that Vika and the gang were at in the book. And I loved being able to picture them working their magic in these incredible and beautiful historical Saint Petersburg locations. But why just visualize when we can share? So I figured I would take you on a little tour of some of these places today! And also, there’s a giveaway to enter! But first, a bit about the book, yes?

The Crown's Fate by Evelyn Skye
Series: The Crown's Game #2
Published by Balzer + Bray on May 16th 2017
Pages: 400
GoodreadsAmazonBook Depository

The gorgeous and darkly compelling sequel to The Crown’s Game—perfect for fans of Red Queen and Shadow and Bone.

Magic is growing, shadows are rising, and the throne is at stake…

Russia is on the brink of great change. Pasha’s coronation approaches, and Vika is now the Imperial Enchanter, but the role she once coveted may be more difficult—and dangerous—than she ever expected.

Pasha is grappling with his own problems—his legitimacy is in doubt, the girl he loves loathes him, and he believes his best friend is dead. When a challenger to the throne emerges—and with the magic in Russia growing rapidly—Pasha must do whatever it takes to keep his position and protect his kingdom.

For Nikolai, the ending of the Crown’s Game stung deeply. Although he just managed to escape death, Nikolai remains alone, a shadow hidden in a not-quite-real world of his own creation. But when he’s given a second chance at life—tied to a dark price—Nikolai must decide just how far he’s willing to go to return to the world.

With revolution on the rise, dangerous new magic rearing up, and a tsardom up for the taking, Vika, Nikolai, and Pasha must fight—or face the destruction of not only their world but also themselves.

Additional Buy Links:

About Evelyn Skye

Evelyn Skye is the New York Times bestselling author of THE CROWN’S GAME (out now!) and THE CROWN’S FATE (May 16, 2017). She was once offered a job by the C.I.A., she not-so-secretly wishes she was on “So You Think You Can Dance,” and if you challenge her to a pizza-eating contest, she guarantees she will win. When Evelyn isn’t writing, she can be found chasing her daughter on the playground or sitting on the couch, immersed in a good book and eating way too many cookies.

Now, let’s see some Russia, shall we?

I am going to try to keep this super spoiler-free in case you have yet to read the first book. But trust that each of these does make an appearance- and probably in a very fun and special way 😉 The pictures are mine, except for the Ovchinin Island since that isn’t an actual place, so those are just public domain photos I found!

Ovchinin Island

Admittedly, this is from my own head/how I imagine the island home of Vika that Evelyn created. Because… well, it is from her own head and imagination, not actual Russia. But still, fun, no?

Winter Palace

This is now the site of The Hermitage museum, but had a very different function for Vika and the gang.

Neva River

This is a big old river (the 4th largest in Europe, in case you had a burning desire to know that) that runs right through the heart of Saint Petersburg. So of course, it shall be familiar in the series!

Nevsky Prospekt/Palace Square

This is the “main” street in the city, if you will. And the Palace Square is the central area in the city, which includes the Winter Palace


One lucky winner will receive an ARC of The Crown’s Fate! Open internationally!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Follow the Tour!

Jan. 9th – Brittany’s Book Rambles: The Crown’s Fate Review

Jan. 10th- Sarcasm & Lemons: Fancast

Jan. 11th- The YA Book Traveler: History of Russian Crowns

Jan. 12th- Picnic Reads: Character-Based Book Tag

Jan. 13th- Book Nerd Addict: Inspired Tote Design

Jan.16th- Dazzled by Books: Top 5 Reasons I Love The Crown’s Game

Jan. 17th- Rants and Raves of a Bibliophile: Characters Matched to Teas

Jan. 18th- The Book Buzz: New Enchanter

Jan. 19th- The Aus. Library: Famous Russian Fairytales

Jan. 20th-  My Thoughts Literally: Character Inspired Dessert

Jan. 23rd- Omg Books and More Books: Books that Characters of TCG Would Enjoy

Jan. 24th– It Starts at Midnight: Virtual Tour of Russia

Jan. 25th– Next Page Please!: Character Blog

Jan. 26th– The Book Nut: Playlist

Jan. 27th– Arctic Books: Make-up Looks

Jan. 30th– Two Chicks on Books: Pinterest Recipe Board

Jan. 31th– Lost in Ever After: Typical Date for Nikolai & Vika

Feb. 1st- Alexa Loves Books: Fashion Book Look

Feb. 2nd- Sophie Reads YA: Russian History In and Out of The Crown’s Game

Feb. 3rd– 21st Century Once Upon A Times: Drink Your Way Through The Crown’s Game

Feb. 6th- The Eater of Books: 10 Reason I’m Excited for TCF

Feb. 7th- A Thousand Words A Million Books: Top 5 Magical Moves in The Crown’s Game

Feb. 8th- Seeing Double in Neverland: Fanmade Bookmarks & Swag

Feb. 9th- A Page With A View: YA Fantasy Books set in Russia

Feb. 10th- Dana Square: Recipe from The Crown’s Game

Feb. 13th-YA Wednesdays: Favorite Quotes from The Crown’s Game

Feb. 14th- Juniper Reads: Sorting Characters into Fandoms

Feb. 15th- Nicole’s Novel Reads: Nail Polish Looks

Feb. 16th- The Queen Reads: What the Characters of TCG would take to a Deserted Island

Feb. 17th- A Perfection Called Books: The Crown’s Fate Review

Have you read The Crown’s Game? Are you excited for the sequel? And also, RUSSIA- has anyone been?

Posted January 24, 2017 by Shannon @ It Starts at Midnight in Blog Tour, Giveaway / 12 Comments


12 responses to “Tsar’s Guard Spotlight Tour & Giveaway

  1. Wow, such gorgeous locations! I loved The Crown’s Game and imagining all of the gorgeous locations. I can’t wait for more gorgeous Russia and settings in the next book!

  2. Oooh I love this! I haven’t read The Crown’s Game (though maybe I should??), but your pictures are great and make me want to travel to Russia immediately.

  3. I am excited to read it, in fact I am reading it at the moment. I am hoping I will love it! And no I have not been to Russia but I would like to one day, love the photos!

  4. Agustina Z

    Oooh I love all the pictures, such gorgeous locations! I’m also hungry now after seeing some of the photos from the Ovchinin Island LOL. And wow the Winter Palace is so beautiful! Can’t wait to read The Crown’s Fate!

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge